Thursday, October 7, 2010

History of East Riding Police in Beverley archives

THE IMAGE of the local bobby riding around the countryside on a bicycle is often the memory many people have of policemen and women of the past. But is this a true reflection?

People can now judge for themselves as East Riding of Yorkshire Council’s archives and local studies service is pleased to announce the availability of the East Riding Constabulary archive. 

This marvellous resource contains thousands of records and photographs recording the history of the force, providing a collection of great interest to social and family historians and enabling researchers to analyse their role in modern English society. East Riding Constabulary was formed in 1856, twenty years after Hull City Police Force. 

Beverley Borough Police force, which formed in 1836, merged with the constabulary in 1928 and, further amalgamations led to the creation of Humberside Police in 1974. 
“This collection contains some wonderful photographs recording over one hundred years of policing in the area and anyone who has a police officer as an ancestor might find a picture of them here. The collection gives a fascinating insight into the day to day running of the police and how it was organised.”  Joanna Larter, collections officer at the Treasure House. 
The collection also includes records of the methods used by police to first encourage road safety and war time records including those of the Police War Reserves and the alien registration certificates of those escaping the horrors of the war. 

The collection is available to view at the Treasure House in Champney Road, Beverley. Appointments to see it can be made by calling (01482) 392790, while the online catalogue can be viewed at


Post a Comment


About This Blog

Just might be of interest to those active in HU12 (post code area) communities and partnerships!?


Blog Archive


Hedon Blog

  © Blogger templates The Professional Template by 2008

Back to TOP